Eldon House: My new local…

A possible biased account as it is managed by a friend from school – but an excellent pub nonetheless. And as I am currently flatmateless (she is working in Philadelphia – too jealous for words) I will be in need of the regular entertainment – probably in the form of scrabble – and consequently definitely worth the high recommendations to follow.

Venture slightly off the regular haunts that that the Clifton triangle can provide you and you will find the inviting location of Eldon House. A pub managed by the somewhat beautiful and friendly – if somewhat regularly hungoverΒ  – Mr. Houghton (I can get away with this description only because I have known him so long) this venue brings you the cosiness and friendly feel of your living room.

The big mention – the food of course!! It offers a weekly changing menu by the most fabulous of chefs (I am currently drooling in anticipation of my first taste of pumpkin pie at halloween if it lives up to previous food experiences here). You can choose from a variety of mains and the best Ploughmans experience I have found so far – you choose which three things you want with your bread and chutneys!!! And if you don’t make it your priority to visit for Sunday Roasts soon you are making a big mistake.

Visit on a Thursday and you are likely to be greeted by the sounds of a live rendition from a band/solo artist of someone you should definitely be listening to! They also have a Monday quiz – but as my general knowledge is exceedingly poor I will skirt over this event as I score so poorly it is embarrassing!

Friendly service, fabulous food and a cosy setting – around the corner! I could not wish for a better local! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

