Primrose Cafe: My inspiration…

I am very much a lover of the Clifton area of Bristol. In fact there is a running joke amongst my friends that I do not venture out of the BS8 area – which is of course ridiculous as I work in BS1! πŸ˜‰ I am also making a conscious effort to try new places across the diverse sections of Bristol that I rarely visit – with the help of my much cooler sibling (can you still get away with saying cool these days?)

A particular favourite (and a big inspiration for the atmosphere of my future teashop) is the Primrose cafe. Sitting next to the arcade in Clifton village, and very close to one of my favourite little parks, Victoria Park, (bring back summertime for reading in the sunshine), the Primrose is always busy with the hustle and bustle of coffee needing Cliftonites. With their scrummy breakfast options (not just your full English breakfast, you can go all ‘holier than thou’ with fruit and yoghurt), a variety of delicious sandwiches and more filling delights you will struggle not to accidentally order some food when just popping in for a quick drink! Well, unless you are a much stronger person than me…. There is also of course the CAKE! An abundance of the wonder that is cake greets you at the counter as you go up – go on, treat yourself to that slice of gooey chocolate fudge ;-).

A big bonus for me is their catering for awkward dietary requirements. I tend to avoid any kind of dairy unless there is space for a quick nap after (an unfortunate sufferer of self-diagnosed-dairy-induced-narcolepsy!) But I must worry not when in the Primrose! πŸ™‚ With dairy free options on offer I can eat and drink to my heart’s content. A friend of mine also suffers from a wheat allergy (which seems to becoming increasingly common) and Primrose is one of the few places we have found that offers a rye bread option for their sandwiches – kudos!

In the evening Primose Cafe transforms the upstairs into a bistro style restaurant. This is unfortunately where my review must stop however as I am yet to try out this late night experience. Look out for it though in the new experiences section soon! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

