Central Studio: Discovering the trends for Autumn/Winter…

My look is generally low maintenance. I am in fact renowned for my elasticated waistbands (this admittedly does not paint the prettiest picture) and slightly more hippy look. I think I would have worked perfectly in the 60s…

BUT, I can definitely glam it up when the occasion requires and it is often great to keep up with the current fashions (not just a quick flick through the fashion pages of the most recent trashy magazine!) Consequently, I had a Tuesday evening with a difference this week. This evening, Central Studio (central Bristol hairdressing salon) provided guests with an insight into the new L’Oreal colour looks for the Autumn/Winter season.

L’Oreal’s theme for the upcoming season is ‘pure and wild’; the ethos: original beauty. The colour on each model therefore had two sides: the first look being quite classic; whilst a simple style change transformed the look into a much more adventurous image (obviously the hairdressers probably made this look easier than it may be to the amateur). Demonstrations included three colour looks on different models, with explanations on the inspiration, the styling and accompanying make-up looks. As a heads up, the trends to apparently look out for are Amazonian, 1940s and Girl-meets-boy. Personally I am most excited about the Amazonian look (my hair is generally on the wild side – I have learnt not to try and tame it) and have walked away with a messy plait in my hair. I now just need to practice the technique. The winged eye and lipstick look of the 1940s (think Dita von Teese) will also definitely be making an appearance during the festive period!

The evening provided the perfect opportunity to learn new styling techniques from the experts and understand how the looks could work best with your hair. With the demonstrations including personal interpretations of how each look could be styled from head to toe, I have a lot of inspiration for the next few months – I just need to go shopping!! I am also thinking about when I can justify my next hair colour so I can try out one of the looks…..hmmmm….

I will be looking out for the next similar event….inspiration always welcome! And if anyone needs a new hairdresser – http://www.central-studio.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

