The Witchery: Dining in the Secret Garden…

Finally I have made it to the beautiful city of Edinburgh! πŸ™‚ Tempted by a Groupon deal (of course!) for a bargainous stay in the lovely Fraser Suites (which FYI is lovely and in the most handy location) I bit the bullet and booked my flights.

Edinburgh is just stunning – walking along the streets cannot help but put a smile on your face. As a consequence I have experienced a weekend of walking and eating – perfection. Unfortunately I do not think the amount of leisurely walking counteracted the extent of my eating – but holiday calories do not count right? This included a yummy healthy lunch at Always Sunday – which in my opinion is one of the best names for a cafe EVER and sums up the fun, laid back atmosphere perfectly.

The highlight of my eating experiences of the weekend was however my Sunday night at The Witchery by the Castle. Honestly, this is a must see for anyone who visits Edinburgh and feels like treating themselves. We were booked into the Secret Garden dining room hidden around the back, which is exactly how you may imagine it to be. Heading down the stairs you witness ivy hanging from the ceiling, branches adorning the walls and an overall ambiance of luxury. The overall effect is that you feel special to be have found this little area.

The food is delicious. Personally I was particularly excited at the option of a goats cheese dessert (have I mentioned my addiction?) I would also recommend having a read through the back pages of the menu for a bit of background of the venue. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive throughout the meal: something you would of course anticipate from a restaurant of this calibre but something you unfortunately do not always experience. The Witchery does not disappoint in any way. I am now on a mission to return and stay in one of their beautiful rooms – have a sneaky look to see what I’m talking about: http://thewitchery.com/Suites-Info.html

Leave a Reply

