The Town House: To Lunch or Brunch….?

Last week I faced the rather confusing conundrum when heading out at midday on a Sunday of being faced with two menu options: Brunch or Sunday lunch?!?! Although it was the first meal of my day and therefore perhaps the breakfast style options should be the obvious menu choice, this Sunday lunch menu could not have been more tempting with two meats in each of the dinner options. Panic hit! (OK I’m being on the dramatic side!) But I stuck with my instincts and went with brunch by the way.

To clarify, I was sat at this point in The Town House. Previously Picture House East, this cute little restaurant has rebranded and brings a new menu. I have previously passed several evenings sat outside on Whiteladies Road watching the world go by with a glass of wine but never really ventured inside. I am now very glad that I have. The decor is bright and airy and the tables beautifully laid (an important aspect of the dining experience that is often overseen!)

The brunch menu is particularly tempting – alongside the usual full breakfast and bacon sandwiches offerings there are three pancake options! I thought I would be good and order the smoked salmon and scrambled egg however in future, although this was delicious, I would advise that others go for the full breakfast which looked amazing (serious food envy issues!) We also ordered two extra portions of pancakes between the two of us; which was in hindsight excessive. I would also warn that the pancakes really need to be eaten pretty quickly – do not leave for afterwards.

The toilets should also get a special random mention. Head upstairs and you find two sets of saloon doors with quirky wooden sculptures to indicate which is male and female. Personally I love random little touches like this that do not follow the norm.

Very much recommend and I will be heading back to sample the roast dinner menu soon as I have a free Sunday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

