Papadeli: A new little find….

I have just wondered into the little delight that is Papadeli on Alma Road and, having previously spent three years living just two roads down, cannot believe I have not discovered it before. Having moved nearer to Clifton Village I seem to have forgotten about all the little treasures that Whiteladies Road also offers.

The lunch menu is particularly tempting – focusing on fresh salads, plates of cold meats and pickles and varieties of soup and bread you can treat yourself to something warming on these cold winter days or go away feeling rather healthy (if your health kick has somehow managed to last into February!) They also do a wide range of morning treats – a place that serves boiled eggs and soldiers can never go wrong in my eyes.

Tempted by the goats cheese frittata (very reasonable at Β£2.95 for a scrummy light lunch) I have actually just spent the last hour incredibly distracted and almost drooling at my table listening to them talk their visitors through the wonders of their cheese counter and delicious sounding cakes. So much so that my good intentions went completely out the window and I stayed for some lemon and polenta cake and a chai tea. I am currently surrounded by shelves stacked with olive oils, vinegars, biscuits, sauces (I could go on….) With my severe addiction to condiments (generally this is all I have in my cupboards and fridge) this new find is incredibly dangerous to my bank balance. For anyone stuck for presents for their foodie friends (is there anyone out there who does not enjoy food?) I would say you could not go wrong with a Papadeli hamper full of yummy goodies.

Polenta cake and tea
Giant slice of lemon and polenta cake

I feel I cannot give this place complete justice from my one little trip. Not only a deli and little coffee shop, it seems there is much more to discover with wine tasting events and cookery lessons advertised. I haven’t even ventured upstairs to the actual cafe – who knows what yummy treats are waiting for me there?! With very limited cookery skills (my full cooking repertoire can pretty much be summed up as breakfast, potato wedges and chilli – although they are all of course awesome) perhaps I should also try out a cookery lesson or two…

A wonderful find on a Saturday afternoon – I will definitely be introducing this place to the other half’s credit card soon…Teehee!

Leave a Reply

