Jack’s Brasserie: New menu excitement…

The problem with my recent addiction to Twitter (on top of the distraction from work) is the constant temptation from nearby restaurants and bars talking about their current offers, pictures of their delicious dishes….

My recent temptation was a tasting evening of Jack’s Brasserie new menu – opening after being closed for the winter. For just Β£10 we were treated to four rounds of canapes based on the new menu and a glass of accompanying wine with each “course”. This worked out as particularly good value to me as my friend does not drink wine and therefore each small sensible glass turned into being 4 large glasses of wine. I consequently giggled my way home, much to the amusement of my non-wine drinking friend.

I can confirm that the canapes were scrummy (although masses of breadsticks were required to help soak up the amount I was drinking). The main treat was however the choices of wine that went with them. Now I am not a wine expert so I cannot comment educationally on the flavours; however, not usually a being Sauvingnon Blanc fan – I may now be a convert after trying the Vidal Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand. I will also definitely also be sourcing the Cotes du Rhone les Bastille –Β  one of the most deliciously smooth reds I have ever tried. The tastebuds are less reliable for round 3 and 4.

My favourite of the tasty samples of the new menu I tried included:

  • Somerset camembert, garlic and thyme, brioche croute (I know I’m not meant to eat dairy – sometimes it is just too tempting);
  • Bath pig chorizo, olive and smoked paprika croquettes;
  • Rhubarb and stem ginger jelly, ginger cream.

There are also other tempting treats on the full new menu

Photo of croquettes, wine and breadsticks
Bath pig chorizo, olive and smoked paprika croquettes – Mmmmm

For those stuck for Valentine’s idea – the five course menu here looks particularly exciting –Β  Jack’s Brasserie Valentine’s menu.

Having visited for a friend’s birthday meal last year I was already a fan of this lovely restaurant on the harbourside and am now looking forward to further visits now I have tasted the new menu. With outside seating it will also be a regular haunt in the Summer I am sure.

Leave a Reply

