Tea Birds: A pot of tea for one please…

With oodles of time off work and little activity planned I had all the fabulous intentions to write a lot over the Christmas break. Unfortunately, instead I discovered that I can fill my days with very little. Plus, the lie in and afternoon nap routine allowed little time for brain activity. Consequently, I will have to dig far into the memory bank to write up some of the lovely places I visited at the end of 2013. First up, the delightful Tea Birds.

Taking the place of Swinky Sweets near the bottom of Park Street, it has helped to fill the cuteness gap that was left when they upped sticks for London. From the minds of two best friends, Anna and Jodie who both grew up around the Bristol area, the most adorable independent vintage tea room has appeared.

If, like me, you go all gushy at the sight of a set of vintage crockery, chintzy furnishings and a bit of bunting to boot, then this place will be right up your street. I walked in and immediately Tea Birds put a silly grin on my face. This is a place of pure girly indulgence. A perfect place for a girly catch up; not so much a place to take a guy to impress. 😉

Photo of a pastel blue dresser full of crockery and cushions
Pure girly indulgence – adorable!

Tea Birds live up to their name in that they have an extensive variety of teas to choose from. After much deliberation, I went for a refreshing oolong tea to help me to continue with the rest of my Christmas shopping. Served just the way it should be in a charming individual teapot, teacup, saucer and tea strainer. Just lovely. With the option to top up the tea with a bit more hot water you can easily sit and watch the Park Street shoppers go by for a while…

Tea being poured into a tea strainer sitting on a vintage tea cup
Action shot – trickier than it looks to create this on your own….

Food ranges from simple sandwiches (on either white or brown bread) or choose from the wide variety of cakes on offer that sit temptingly on the counter. Different levels of the quintessentially English cream tea are also on offer depending on how hungry you are. With Lahloo Pantry leaving a big hole in the Bristol afternoon tea land I will have to give this a try at some point soon! In this case I was in need of quick sustenance to keep me going so went for the goats cheese and pepper sandwich. Sandwiches are served cut into triangles (the best way) with crunchy crisps and salad. Yum! I ate it too quickly to take a photo – whoops!

Tea Birds is adorable and fits in perfectly within the vintage feel of Park Street. I’ll be back soon to try the afternoon tea.

http://theteabirdsbristol.com/

Twitter:  TheTeaBirds7

Leave a Reply

