Brigstow Bar & Kitchen: Roast dinner with a view…

There is a sneaky bit of the harbour, across from SS Great Britain that is slowly becoming one of my favourite spots in Bristol for fulfilling my love of eating and drinking. Sat out in the sunshine looking out at the water, you can easily pretend you are on holiday and not have a care in the world. Consequently, I was excited to hear the food genius behind one of my favourite roast dinners in Bristol (discounting the mother goose’s) had moved to the recently re-opened Brigstow Bar & Kitchen.

The chef, Andrew Clatworthy (previously from the Rummer) is one of the few people who can talk about food with more passion and enthusiasm than me! Get him talking about his menu and you cannot help but smile at how excited he is about the ingredients he has used and the recipes that he has put together with them. This love for food has allowed him to take the roast to the next level.

Firstly, I’ll confirm that they’ve got the basics right. The roast potatoes are crisp on the outside and fluffy on the outside (is there anything more disappointing than rubbish roasters?) The gravy is rich and scrumptious; I could just quite happily drink it from the jug.

Brigstow-potatoes

And…. the yorkshire puddings are as big as your head!!!

Brigstow-yorkshire

The meat is also beautifully cooked and melts in your mouth. Usually I cannot resist the pork belly option on a roast menu; however, on this day I decided to be a bit adventurous and go for the lamb. The sun was shining – I had a glass of Pimms in my hand – the idea of lamb with fresh peas was too tempting. I made the right choice!

Brigstow-lamb

It’s the veg that surprisingly makes this meal stand out from the crowd. Who knows what secret flavours they add to that colourful bowl of vegetables, but I love it. It almost overshadows the meat…almost. 😉

On this occasion we were both far too full for pudding. I did manage to squeeze in a cheeky gin and tonic though. They’ve got a great selection if you just fancy a gin in the sunshine.

I have been reliably informed that there are more exciting things to come from Brigstow. With regular foodie events and a pretty exciting menu, no matter what time of the day, I can’t wait to go back and try the different options! Now we just need the sun to come back….

Check out the menu at brigstowbarandkitchen.co.uk

Twitter: @BrigstowBar 

 

Leave a Reply

