Recipe: Sweet Potato Breakfast Muffins

About 18 months ago food was having a pretty hefty argument with my body; which is pretty upsetting as I show food a lot of love and attention. As a result I went for a food intolerance test (a rather odd experience) which meant a serious look at my diet, cutting out sugar, yeast and anything from cow’s milk. Oh and tonic water! No more G&Ts – that was pretty depressing. For three months I was super strict. With just a few mini tantrums (you have no idea until you actually look at packets how many things unnecessarily include sugar and yeast) I managed it! Although I am not quite as strict anymore, I have still generally adapted my eating habits to avoid these ingredients and plan my meals and snacks far better so I don’t give in to the naughty convenience foods on offer.

The first thing to get my head around was breakfast. No toast. No cereal. No convenience basically. My saviour has been a recipe I have adapted from Gwyneth Paltrow’s It’s All Good recipe book for sweet potato muffins. Key changes:

  • I use normal flour. I’m not intolerant to gluten so there is no need to use GF flour. I have also found that self-raising flour results in a fluffier and lighter muffin texture. I adapted the raising agents to suit
  • I swap Chinese five spice for cinnamon and ginger. The former felt like a really odd taste for the morning – I couldn’t get my head around it. Love the sweetness and heat that cinnamon and ginger gives these.

So many people have asked me for this recipe, so I thought it was about time I wrote it up. 🙂

Note: recommend Sunday baking as takes a while to make from potato baking to finished goods.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large or 2 small-medium sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (normal milk prob works if not lactose intolerant)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3/4 cup maple syrup (make sure it’s the pure kind)- I generally chuck in a bottle
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking power and bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tbsp. (ish) Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp (ish) Ground ginger

Makes 12 muffins!

Method

  • Bake sweet potato for approx. 1 hour at 200 degrees (depending on potato size). Leave to cool. Entertain self for a while…
  • Mush up potato in a big bowl with fork. Add in oil, almond milk and vanilla essence and mix until looks fairly consistent
  • Add in all the dry ingredients and fold in. Make sure you spread the baking powder and bicarb over the mix so you don’t get any yucky clumps of raising agent.
  • Pop into muffin cases. I always use an ice-cream scoop for this as it is super speedy and makes sure they are fairly regular in size.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes at 200 degrees until it bounces back up to the touch or a skewer comes out clean. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

muffins

Enjoy!

I make these mainly out of habit and necessity, but they are super tasty whether you need to eat a special diet or not.

Leave a Reply

