Mrs Browns Cafe: Coffee catch ups in the sun

Everyone has their list of favourite spots in Bristol. If you’re like me, this list constantly evolves as you discover more little gems hidden in different corners of our city. Mrs Browns Cafe, a cute little outside cafe nestled in Victoria Park, has become a recent addition to my list.

The offerings are fairly simple: a range of hot drinks, homemade cakes, toasties and breakfast baps. Oh and the best ice lollies (which I will come to later). Based around quality and local ingredients (the bread comes from the bakery at the bottom of the park) it’s the perfect menu for a brunch, lunch or afternoon catch up. It’s also the best pit stop for me on my many, many dog walks round the park!

The location is hard to beat; whether you manage to nab one of the tables or chill out in a cosy deck chair, this is the perfect people watching spot, particularly when the sun shines. Hungry? I recommend the bacon & egg baps: crispy thick bacon, oozy egg yolks and soft baps – it can get a little messy, but necessary!

20160703_113523

Last weekend, feeling somewhat delicate from the night before, I also discovered that they offer the best hangover solution I have found so far: Polar Pops ice lollies! These are full of all the good stuff and void of the bad stuff; whilst giving you the cold sweet hit my body is always craving after a night out. I went for the Big green: a scrummy combo of pineapple, apple, avocado, banana, kale, lime juice, chia seeds and spirulina- this will attack all those toxins! (Note: I have no scientific evidence for this statement; I just felt better after eating it 😊)

Just follow the signs…

20160705_165745

20160703_121400

Their opening hours are usually 9.30/10am – 5pm, but they do pop up now and again in the evenings for special occasions. Find out what they are up to on Twitter: @MrsBrownsCafe .

 

 

Leave a Reply

