Lido: Hidden Tranquility

It can be tricky to get away from it all when you live in a city. Luckily we have a little haven hidden away in Bristol: The Lido. This is one of my favourite places to treat myself or the lovely people in my life. My actual best thing to do isย to buy one of their fab spa packages for two as presents so people are obliged to take me. ๐Ÿ™‚ย It’s not my fault. When I was younger my mum used to give me and my brother presents on each other’s birthdays; I have basically grown up thinking I should be involved in every birthday present in some way…

It’s the perfect place to feel pampered, particularly if you spoil yourself a little bit and have a massage.ย I have had the best massages there! You choose the massage or treatment that is most suited to you – relaxation, rejuvenation… whatever you need at the time. Plus you can get all cosy in an armchair with a blanket and a cup of tea after – no need to rush back into life (yes I am an old woman…)

I also love just using the spa facilities, rotating through the hot tub, sauna and steam room (reference a sign on the wallย to see the most appropriate order to use them). I don’t get to do it very often, but whenever I have gone I have wondered why I don’t treat myself more. If you are brave enough, you can go in the pool. I am not a big fan of water in general and therefore an outside pool doesn’t particularly appeal to me;ย you do warm up though as you swim, apparently…

View of someone swimming through a rain covered window
Brave souls swimming in the rain..

It is not just about spa-ing it up though! Theย Lido restaurant, upstairs looking over the pool, is one of my favourite places for a special meal. Freddy Bird serves up some pretty spectacular food. Recommend ordering the scallops for starters!

For something a little more casual, I love grabbing a glass of wine and working my way through the tapas menu downstairs by the pool and pretending I am on holiday!

 

Carafe of white wine
Anyone else love a carafe of wine?

 

Range of tapas
Tapas galore – I always order the palates bravas

 

Bread and olives
How to pretend you are in the Mediteranean… focaccia, almonds and marinated olives

The Lido ticks a lot of boxes and never fails to feel like a little bit of a treat to myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

Find out more on their website: http://www.lidobristol.com/

Or keep an eye on promotions on Twitter: @LidoBristol

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shonette says:

    Still one of my favourite places for a treat day – that tapas (and wine) tastes even better after a long swim! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. kirstybowman says:

      It’s lush isn’t it. Perfect place to feel spoilt!

      Like

Leave a Reply

