Reflections: My three words for 2016

At the beginning of this year I read Aled’s blog on three words for 2016 and was inspired.
The concept resonated with me; rather than looking at specific (often unrealistic) goals/resolutions, choose three words to provide some focus to the actions and choices you make in the year. My chosen words?

  • Calm
  • Strength
  • Creativity

Here’s a little reflection on how I think I have done and opportunities to improve in the next year…

Calm

This year I fully embraced the benefits of yoga. I even managed to finally go on a yoga retreat. It focuses my mind; for the duration of the class, at least, I am forgetting the manic day I have had or events that have made me feel emotional and am instead completely focused on me. I’ve been a bit sporadic in recent months and as a consequence I have seen an impact to how calmly I am able to react to events. Turns out, I need yoga in my life and will be ensuring I give myself more time to dedicate to it in the new year. I’ve also been reading about how much nutrition and the gut can effect how you feel, both health-wise and emotionally (recommend reading Gut for anyone who has similar interest). I look forward to exploring this further.

20160710_192500
Finding my Zen – with my fab yoga buddy, Margherita

 

Strength

In the Summer I felt pretty fit. I was going to yoga classes 3-4 times a week and fitting in Kayla Bikini Body guide. It was hard work, particularly as I have never been that much of a fan of serious exercise, but giving up 30 minutes 3 times a week for exercise was pretty manageable and I quickly saw results. The combo of HIIT and yoga also worked great together: strength and flexibility of yoga combined with cardio and strength exercises meant I progressed quicker in both. Unfortunately, my usual laziness kicked in and a few excuses later I got out of the routine and stopped Kayla. 😦 Time to get a love for exercise again in the new year.

Strength of mind was also included in the theme. I’ve had several moments this year where emotions have stopped me getting my point across and my inner strength failed. I gave up and chose the easiest or comfortable route to escape confrontation or having to go out of my comfort zone. Definitely still a work in progress.

 

Me passed out on exercise mat
Exercise is not my friend….

Creativity

Here I have had the most success – I’ve managed to give more time to creativity this year, particularly in the last few months where I have taken time off work for the sole purpose of being creative. I’ve got back into drawing – which is almost my form of meditation as it stops my sometimes manic brain from thinking about anything else but the picture I am creating. I’ve been trying lots of new recipes, particularly healthy treats. I also made a lot of Christmas presents this year, which I loved and will try and do more in the future. A mixture of cute sweet treats (including a giant jaffa cakes) and drawings of things that make me think of the person I am making it for.

20161228_145403
Homemade gifts…

 

20161228_145142
Homemade truffles, boxed up and ready for lovely people

 

A bit of work to do on 2016 words but think I am going to carry this concept through. I’ve got a few days left to decide my focus for 2017. Hmmm…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the idea of having three words for the year rather than mostly unrealistic resolutions!
    Viola xo | A Piece of Viola

    Like

    1. kirstybowman says:

      I can’t take credit for the idea – but love the concept too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

