The Eating Room: falling in love with it’s decor & food!

Now and again I just need a day off for me; to potter about and ignore adulting for a little bit. After a detox weekend away and boozy roast based birthday weekend (contradictory I know), I knew a me day would be just what the doctor ordered. I am also slowly exploring my new area of Totterdown and was excited to finally try The Eating Room on Wells Road.

The decor is scrumptious. Apparently an extension of their living room (I was awkwardly gushing about it) they obviously have great taste. From the gorgeous lampshade hanging from the ceiling, to their vintage till (topped with an iPad for convenience). I have a bit of an obsession for vintage crockery and ornaments so I was falling in love with everything. I had also not had a coffee in a week, having cut it out for a detox weekend – so to sit in peace with a delicious black coffee, admiring my surroundings, was just perfection.

Coffee in blue cup and saucer with vintage cafe in the background

The brunch menu is pretty inviting, with offerings including shakshuka with baked eggs and sourdough, or the simple but incredibly comforting “dippy eggs and soldiers”. Their ethos is to offer a small, but perfected, menu of quality ingredients in its lovely relaxed setting. Although the menu is small, I could have easily eaten every option. In the end, I went with the recommendation of the chorizo and butter beans combo with wilted spinach and a soft boiled egg. Served in a gorgeous bowl, that I wish I owned, it was the perfect balance of flavours. The sourdough toast was also a fab and necessary accompaniment to mop up all the tasty juices from chorizo-flavoured tomato sauce.

Photo from above of breakfast, laptop and coffee
The perfect writing scenario

For a while I could believe I played in cafes for a living. πŸ™‚

I still need to pop in to try their evening menu – which from following their gorgeously colourful instagram, looks divine! Instagram: @theeatingroom.

Also recommend keeping an eye on their website for all their events:Β https://theeatingroom.squarespace.com/

Leave a Reply

